How to Check Who Has Read Your WhatsApp Group Message

A few months back WhatsApp introduced read receipt feature – that is the two blue tick marks that make senders know that their message has been read by the recepient. While it is easy to know whether or not your message has been read in individual messaging, it is just a bit tricky to find out who has read it and who has skipped it in group message in WhatsApp.

This means if you see two blue check marks next to your sent message, then the recipient has read your message. In a group chat or broadcast message, the check marks will turn blue when every participant has read your message.

At times, WhatsApp users may require to know if their group message has been read by all or not just in case the message is very important for everyone. If you are unaware of this little trick, here is how you can discover it.

Don’t know what WhatsApp is?

WhatsApp Messenger is a cross-platform mobile messaging app which allows you to exchange messages without having to pay for SMS. WhatsApp Messenger is available for iPhone, BlackBerry, Android, Windows Phone and Nokia and yes, those phones can all message each other! Because WhatsApp Messenger uses the same internet data plan that you use for email and web browsing, there is no cost to message and stay in touch with your friends.

In addition to basic messaging WhatsApp users can create groups, send each other unlimited images, video and audio media messages.

How to Check Who Has Read Your WhatsApp Group Message

  1. Turn on your Android Device.
  2. Launch WhatsApp.
  3. Tap on any group.
  4. Open a chat with a group. or locate your earlier sent message to a group.
  5. Tap and hold on the sent message, a menu will popup then tap on Info .
  6. WhatsApp Grooup Message

The Message info screen shows:

  • Read by or Seen when the recipient has read your message or seen your picture, audio file, or video. For a Voice Message, the recipient has seen but has not yet played it.
  • WhatsApp read by
  • Delivered when your message is delivered to your recipient’s phone, but the recipient has not yet seen it.
  • WhatsApp Delivered To
  • Played when the recipient has played your Voice Message.

Please note that when a participant leaves a group, the Message info screen will still show the original information with all participants, including the participant who left the group.

On the other hand, there are periods of time where WhatsApp users want to keep their privacy and not have WhatsApp Read Receipts show about any delivered message. Though WhatsApp has allowed Android users to stop showing read receipt, it hasn’t done it for iOS users. Fortunately, there is a smart Cydia tweak called “WhatsApp Read Receipt Disabler” that allows iOS users to disable read receipt.

Learn more about the Message info screen on: iPhone | Windows Phone | Nokia S40 | BlackBerry | Nokia S60 | BlackBerry 10

If you like the article, share it. If you have other ways of getting this done. Lets know

Love it? Share the joy!

We love comments, please share your replies!

Please notice that your comments will be manually approved before being displayed. But don't worry, this is done as quick as possible (less than 10 mins). Thanks!

FraNK UMEADI

FraNK UMEADI, FraNKAPP as he is fondly called, is the CEO, FraNKAPPWeb Technologies, an IT company aimed at delivering excellent services such as Bulk SMS, Web Application Development, Software Development, Mobile Application Development, Digital Marketing, and IT Training etc. He is a Professional Blogger (Founder / Owner of FraNKAPPTech.com), System Analyst and Programmer that writes in PHP, Java, and C#. Phone: +2348066017971 , or +2349023819269. E-mail: franksomitex@gmail.com , frank.umeadi@frankappweb.com

You may also like...

9 Responses

  1. innocent Nworah says:

    Haha. Love this exposure. I just learnt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge